ETIAS – European Travel Information and Authorization System

Launched by the end of 2022 (expected), ETIAS, which stands for the European Travel Information and Authorisation System, is an IT system designed to identify the unique threats posed by visa-free travellers to the Schengen area.
Once activated, ETIAS will seek to identify and reduce a number of security challenges posed by visa-exempt travellers, including security risks, biological threats (diseases) and irregular migration patterns.
ETIAS thus aims to reduce the security gaps posed to visa-free travellers to the Schengen area by conducting additional background checks on them.
In addition, ETIAS seeks to expedite travel by citizens from visa-free countries seeking access to Schengen by reducing the bureaucracy associated with the Schengen agreement as well as delays at Schengen entry points, and to help potential entrants understand their travel options.
ETIAS is based on the Schengen Agreement principle of free movement, its commitment to open borders and the security of its participants.

How is ETIAS different from a Schengen visa?

ETIAS is NOT a visa; it is a travel permit. Consequently, ETIAS differs from a Schengen visa in the following ways:

The ETIAS permit is not available through consulates or embassies.
ETIAS does not require biometric data such as fingerprints.
The fee for applying for ETIAS is much lower than the fee for applying for a Schengen visa (between €7 and €80 respectively). In addition, it is not necessary to provide any financial information in order to obtain ETIAS.
It takes a few minutes to fill in the ETIAS data forms. The processing time for a Schengen visa application is much longer, you will be required to complete several pages and provide several additional documents and materials.
Processing time for ETIAS permit is considerably shorter than for Schengen visa (on average 10 minutes vs. 15 days, respectively).
ETIAS permits are valid for unlimited entry for several years, compared to Schengen visas, which are valid for 90 days within a 180-day period.

    • ETIAS will NOT affect citizens of Schengen Member States
    • ETIAS will NOT affect citizens of non-Schengen member E.U. States.
    • ETIAS will NOT affect citizens of third-party states who require a visa to travel to the Schengen area.
    • ETIAS WILL affect citizens of non-EU states who are otherwise exempt from needing a visa to the Schengen area.
    • Citizens from the following 59 Visa-free countries will be subject to the new ETIAS system:

    1.     Albania

    31.  Republic of Moldova

    2.     Antigua and Barbuda

    32.  Montenegro

    3.     Argentina

    33.  New Zealand

    4.     Australia

    34.  Nicaragua

    5.     Bahamas

    35.  Palau

    6.     Barbados

    36.  Panama

    7.     Bosnia and Herzegovina

    37.  Paraguay

    8.     Brazil

    38.  Peru

    9.     Brunei Darussalam

    39.  Saint Kitts and Nevis

    10.  Canada

    40.  Saint Lucia

    11.  Chile

    41.  Saint Vincent and the Grenadines

    12.  Colombia

    42.  Samoa

    13.  Costa Rica

    43.  Serbia

    14.  Dominica

    44.  Seychelles

    15.  El Salvador

    45.  Singapore

    16.  Georgia

    46.  Solomon Islands

    17.  Grenada

    47.  South Korea

    18.  Guatemala

    48.  Taiwan

    19.  Honduras

    49.  Timor-Leste

    20.  Hong Kong

    50.  Tonga

    21.  Israel

    51.  Trinidad and Tobago

    22.  Japan

    52.  Tuvalu

    23.  Kiribati

    53.  Ukraine

    24.  Macau

    54.  United Arab Emirates

    25.  Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia

    55.  United Kingdom

    26.  Malaysia

    56.  United States of America

    27.  Marshall Islands

    57.  Uruguay

    28.  Mauritius

    58.  Vanuatu

    29.  Mexico

    59.  Venezuela

    30.  Micronesia


    As a result of BREXIT, UK citizens, as well as, British nationals (Overseas), British overseas territories citizens (BOTC), British overseas citizens (BOC), British protected persons (BPP) and British subjects (BS), will all be required to issue an ETIAS.

  • If you are a citizen of a visa-exempt country seeking to travel to the Schengen area, you will be able to fill out an ETIAS online application form, either through the ETIAS official website or through an app on your phone.
  • The information you provide will be run through the European Union’s data systems containing information related to borders and security.
  • These databases include the SCHENGEN VIS (Visa Information System), EUROPOL DATA, and SLTD (Interpol).
  • ETIAS will perform a background check against its collective database to see if you have any criminal history or negative immigration history.
  • The system will likely ask you to provide the following data:
    • Basic information (name, age, birthplace, etc.).
    • Travel document (passport number, expiration date, etc.).
    • Previous Schengen visa history (i.e. whether you have ever been refused entry to, or expelled from, the Schengen area).
    • ETIAS criminal record questions (i.e. background questions that might be relevant to E.U. security).
    • Note, if someone else is submitting the application on your behalf, he or she must present her basic information or that of the entity they represent.
  • If you are over 18, you will pay an ETIAS application fee of 7 EUR.
  • Once paid, ETIAS will begin processing your application. This process will take a maximum of 10 minutes, although in exceptional cases, it can take up to 30 days. If your application raises any flags, it will be manually checked by ETIAS Central Unit and ETIAS National Unit(s). The resulting decision will depend on three elements: your answers to the ETIAS application questions, your travel documents, and your background check against the E.U.’s security databases.
  • The vast majority of people do not show up in the system and are therefore given their ETIAS travel authorization, commonly (but incorrectly) referred to as an ETIAS travel permit or ETIAS travel visa.
  • This document is valid for 3 years or until your travel document expires. If your application is not accepted, you will be denied an ETIAS.
  • ETIAS will provide justification for your refusal, which you have the right to appeal.
  • If your ETIAS application is approved, you are free to travel to the Schengen area. Upon boarding a flight or a vessel to enter the Schengen area, your carrier will check to make sure that you have a valid travel authorization from ETIAS.
  • A final check of your ETIAS validity is conducted by border agents at the Schengen border crossing point.
  • If your ETIAS authorization is judged valid, you are free to enter the Schengen Member State and travel throughout the Schengen area.
  • Because ETIAS is not yet operation, it is unclear how it will work in practice.
  • The above structure, format, and steps of the system and the application process therefore may be subject to changes.
  • If you are a non-E.U. citizen of a visa-exempt state seeking entry to the Schengen, you may wish to contact the consular authority of the Schengen state you are seeking entry to for updated information regarding ETIAS. is the one-stop-shop for all your Schengen visa questions and needs. We are a repository or knowledge base of all the information you need to complete your Schengen visa application.